Whenever a baserunner goes from first base to third on a hit, there’s always the opportunity for something exciting to happen — like a bang-bang play. That’s what went down on Thursday night, when Yoenis Cespedes made the trek from first to third on a James Loney blooper to left field.
The difference between Cespedes’ journey and most you’ve seen? Cespedes was safe because his slide took off the fielder’s glove. Really:
See how Cespedes’ foot pins Adam Wainwright‘s glove to the base? If not, take a closer look. Wainwright ends up shedding his glove because: 1. his momentum was taking him away from the bag and 2. Cespedes applied plenty of pressure. The end result is Cespedes standing on the glove while Wainwright regains his balance a few feet away.
Naturally, with this being 2016 and whatnot, there was a replay review to determine whether Cespedes should be declared safe. The umpires determined he was safe, on the grounds that Wainwright didn’t maintain possession of the ball while tagging Cespedes’ foot. Lovely, right?
NYC’s explanation of call at third: Review confirmed call. Basically that Wainwright didn’t have control of glove, ball. Cespedes made sure.
— Derrick Goold (@dgoold) August 26, 2016
So, there you have it: the closest baseball can get to football, in both the literal and metaphorical senses.
Source: CBS Sports Headlines / WATCH: Yoenis Cespedes called safe after stepping on fielder’s glove during slide